Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Home

Contact Us

The Development Office cultivates philanthropic giving in support of WHOI’s mission of research and education to advance understanding of the ocean. Our staff of professional fundraisers, writers and administrators connects individuals, corporations, and foundations to WHOI so they may contribute to a greater understanding of the ocean, our planet, and how we interact with these systems.

Private philanthropy has been an integral part of WHOI’s success since it was founded in 1930. Charitable organizations such as the Rockefeller Foundation helped establish the Institution’s endowment, funded the construction of new buildings and research vessels, and provided preliminary operating expenses. Today, private funding continues to support innovative ideas, technologies, and scientific discoveries. We are proud that WHOI has been named a four-star charity by Charity Navigator for 10 consecutive years—a distinction achieved by only two percent of U.S. charities.

Contact

WHOI Development Office

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
266 Woods Hole Road, MS #40
Woods Hole, MA 02543-1050
Phone: (508) 289-4895
Email: development@whoi.edu

Samuel Harp
Vice President for Advancement and Chief Marketing Officer
Phone: (508) 289-2955
Email: sharp@whoi.edu

George “Court” Clayton
Chief Development Officer
Phone: (508) 289-2454
Email: gclayton@whoi.edu

Annamarie Behring
Administrative Associate,  Annual  Giving, Gift Accounting, and Advancement Services
Phone: (508) 289-3674
Email: abehring@whoi.edu

Peggy Daly
Director, Advancement Services
Phone: (508) 289-2621
Email: pdaly@whoi.edu

Andrea Early
Interim Senior Director/Director of Engagement
Phone: (508) 289-2997
Email: aearly@whoi.edu

Erika Fitzpatrick
Administrator, Corporate & Foundation Relations
Phone: (508) 289-3281
Email: efitzpatrick@whoi.edu

Jim Flynn
Director of Major Gifts and Planned Giving
Phone: (508) 289-2018
Email: jflynn@whoi.edu

Wendy Henley
Assistant Director of Stewardship
Phone: (508) 289-3598
Email: whenley@whoi.edu

Laura Jones
Administrative Associate for the Vice President of Advancement & Chief Marketing Officer
Phone: (508) 289-3772
Email: ljones@whoi.edu

Alison T. Kline
Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations
Phone: (508) 289-2335
Email: akline@whoi.edu

Véronique C. LaCapra
Special Assistant to the Vice President of Advancement & Chief Marketing Officer
Phone: (508) 289-2990
Email: vlacapra@whoi.edu

Diane Mirlicourtois
Administrative Associate, Principal, Major Gifts, and Planned Giving
Phone: (508) 289-2475
Email: dmirlicourtois@whoi.edu

Jane Bishop Neumann
Principal Gifts Officer
Phone: (508) 289-3319
Email: jneumann@whoi.edu

Ronald Timm
Raiser’s Edge Database Manager
IT Support for Development and Advancement Services
Phone: (508) 289-2392
Email: rtimm@whoi.edu

Grace Wang
Gift Accounting and Reporting
Phone: (508) 289-2383
Email: gwang@whoi.edu

Kelly Westerhouse
Director of Annual Giving
Phone: (508) 289-3313
Email: kwesterhouse@whoi.edu